Skip to content

Us vs them

PassNPPE vs the other ways to prepare

There are more ways to prepare for the NPPE than ever, with prices from free to $599. They fall into three groups: premium courses, mid price question bank platforms, and budget options. Here is how PassNPPE compares with each.

Last updated

What sets PassNPPE apart

  • Every option explained

    Each of our over 1,000 practice questions explains why the correct answer is right and why each of the other three is wrong. That is the reasoning the NPPE tests: two answers often sound right, and you learn to see why one is more right.

  • The full exam, on the clock

    110 questions in 150 minutes, the same as the real exam, with a question list, flag and review, notes and a submit screen modelled on the official interface. Your results come back by section and sub-topic, so you know exactly what to read next.

  • A study guide you can finish

    All topics and sub-topics covered in plain English, each ending with an "At a glance" chart or table, plus 550+ flashcards and a 250+ term legal glossary.

  • Checked, sourced and current

    Every answer key is traced to the standard NPPE texts or an official source, and the content was checked in September 2026 against current law, including copyright at life plus 70 years and the new experience rules in Ontario.

Us vs them, side by side

Each column summarises several providers of that type, from their public pages on 22 September 2026. Not every provider in a group shares every point, and “not verified” means it was not shown on public pages.

Scroll sideways to see every column.

NPPE prep options compared, checked 22 September 2026
FeaturePassNPPE ProUsPremium coursesStructured courses and live classes, $199 to $599Mid price platformsQuestion banks with a guide, about $30 to $250Budget optionsLow cost mock exams and marketplace courses, free to about $99
PriceComing soonOne payment, six months$199 to $599 CAD, some plus taxAbout $30 to $250Free to about $99
Access6 months, no subscription, no auto renewal14 to 25 weeks, or fixed class dates; extensions cost extraVaries: until your next exam, 6 months, or lifetime on top tiersVaries: some end on a fixed date; marketplace courses usually do not expire
Practice questionsOver 1,000Around 500, or not stated110 to 450+From about 100 to over 1,000
Full 110 question, 150 minute timed examYes, with results by section and sub-topicNot described on the course pages we readSome describe shorter mocks, such as 65 to 81 questions; timers often not statedSome offer 110 question sets; timers rarely stated
Every wrong option explainedYes, on every questionExplanations with textbook references; paid depth not verifiedVaries; often not visible before you sign upVaries; not verified
See real questions before paying12 explained questions, no account neededSome publish a handful of samplesSome show nothing until you create an accountVaries
Complete study guideAll topics and sub-topics coveredLessons, videos or live sessionsGuides range from a short strategy guide to a full guideSome include a short guide; many are questions only
Exam facts on their own pagesChecked against the official program and current law, September 2026Generally currentSome pages state the pass mark as 65 percent, which the official program says it is notNot verified
ReviewsJudge it yourself: a free account opens the study guide, 60 questions and a timed mini examThe largest show many reviewsSome reviews or testimonialsMarketplace ratings vary widely, from about 2.3 to 4.7

Prices and features change; check any provider's own page before you buy.

Where the others fall short, and what we do instead

Them

Hundreds of dollars for a course, with access that runs out after a few months unless you pay again.

PassNPPE

One payment (price announced at launch) for six months, which always spans at least two exam sittings. No subscription and no auto renewal.

Them

Mock exams shorter than the real one, or untimed, so exam day is the first time you face 110 questions on the clock.

PassNPPE

The full exam at full length: 110 questions in 150 minutes, then results by section and sub-topic.

Them

Explanations you cannot judge until after you pay, or that give the answer without teaching the reasoning.

PassNPPE

Every option explained on every question, and 12 of them open to anyone with no account.

Them

Exam facts that do not match the official program, such as calling the pass mark 65 percent.

PassNPPE

Facts checked against the official program and current law in September 2026, with a dated record of what changed since the textbooks.

Them

Question sets with no study guide, so you learn the answers without the reasoning behind them.

PassNPPE

A study guide with all topics and sub-topics covered in plain English, plus 550+ flashcards and a 250+ term legal glossary.

What candidates ask for, and what we built

We read what dozens of NPPE candidates have said publicly about preparing. The same four wishes came up again and again.

  • Fair pricing

    PassNPPE Pro will be one payment (price announced at launch) for six months, with no auto renewal, and the Free plan has no time limit, so you can study as long as you like before deciding.

  • Explanations that teach the reasoning

    Every explanation walks through the elimination, option by option, because that is how you choose between two answers that both sound right.

  • Practice that feels like the real exam

    The simulator runs at the real length and time, drawn from all six blueprint sections, and we point you to the official practice test as a final check before exam day.

  • Knowing where to focus

    Every simulator attempt is broken down by section and sub-topic, so you see your strongest and weakest areas while there is still time to act on them.

See it for yourself before you pay

A free account, with no card and no time limit, gives you Section I of the study guide in full and the opening of every other topic, 60 practice questions with full explanations, and a timed 60 question mini exam scored by section. Twelve explained sample questions need no account at all.

How we compared: as of 22 September 2026, we read the public pages of thirteen NPPE prep options available in Canada and grouped them by type. Details can change over time. If you run an NPPE prep service and see something out of date, email hi@passnppe.ca with a link to the current information and we will review it within five business days.

See also PassNPPE pricing and the practice exam.

Frequently asked questions

What makes PassNPPE different from other NPPE prep?
Three things. Every one of our over 1,000 practice questions explains why the right answer is right and why each of the other options is wrong. The simulator runs the full exam at full length, 110 questions in 150 minutes, and shows your results by section and sub-topic. And the study guide covers all topics and sub-topics in plain English, all for one payment.
How close is the simulator to the real NPPE?
It matches the real exam on length and time, 110 questions in 150 minutes across all six blueprint sections, and its layout is modelled on the official interface: a question list, flag and review, notes and a submit screen. When you finish, you see exactly which sections and sub-topics to study next.
Can I try PassNPPE before I buy?
Yes. A free account, with no card and no time limit, opens Section I of the study guide in full and the opening of every other topic, 60 practice questions with full explanations, and a timed 60 question mini exam scored by section. Twelve explained sample questions need no account at all.See create a free account.
Is the content up to date with current law?
Yes. Everything was checked in September 2026 against current law and official sources, including copyright at life plus 70 years and the two year experience requirement in Ontario, and we date every change the textbooks do not yet reflect.
How long does Pro last?
Six months from one payment, which always spans at least two exam sittings, so you can prepare, write and still have time if you want another attempt. There is no subscription and nothing renews automatically.
How do my results relate to the NPPE pass mark?
The NPPE pass mark is a scaled score of 65, which is not the same as 65 percent correct. Our results show your percent correct by section and sub-topic, which is the clearest guide to where your study time will count most.See the pass mark explained.